when you ache discouraged

The impersonal internet struck again. The dreams started about a job, only to be dashed by black and white print: Not Selected. As much as I knew that end was likely (they wanted someone with more availability and I was surprised they brought me in to interview), I was hurt. As much as I knew that it was a rational decision on their end, even if I was great, it felt like personal rejection. Tears formed; tears shed. But worst of all the heaviness settled on me. The heaviness: self-doubt coupled with feeling unworthy topped with a healthy dose of failure. I moved slower and the world felt dark. I avoided people and texted my husband, requesting a virtual hug. The serpent wrapped himself around me and whispered lie upon lie.

Just as I was about to crawl into my self-made hole, I remembered words of hope. Words uttered before true darkness and fear gripped men of old, words promising light in the midst of an unknown future:

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

I repeated these words over and over. I wrote them on my mirror. Slowly, and not without a fight, the serpent and heaviness slithered away. It was still a hard day, and there’s still unfulfilled longing. But there’s hope. Better yet, there’s Hope, and that Hope will not disappoint. Amen.

Leave a Reply

